Win 7 & hardware? - 4042.com Forums

Go Back   4042.com Forums > Johnston County, NC > PC Help Desk

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2012, 09:20 AM   #1
ddrdan
Senior Member
 
ddrdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hidden Lair
Posts: 6,861
Default Win 7 & hardware?

I'm a hardware geek. So I don't understand why is it so hard for Microsoft to include older hardware in the scheme of Windows 7? I have an 812G USB wireless network adapter (WUSB54G) that's only 5 years old and it won't work on Win7 Prem 64bit?

I've tried all the work around's and then some (4 hours) trying to load different drivers on the "Software for Idiots" O/S that won't let "me" decide how "I" want it configured. I have to go through their prompt windows with their choices and their stop checks, when I know if I had access to the dam O/S the thing would work.

OK, rant over, and all the programmers can explain how, somehow, all these restrictions in hardware setup are necessary.

PS: I like the prominent answer posted on the web to the win7 hardware setup issue, "Just buy a new one that does work." Great answer, throw away a mechanical device that works, just to accommodate a neglect in programming???
ddrdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 09:46 AM   #2
ServerSnapper
Senior Member
 
ServerSnapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10,766
Default

The bottom line is you are cheap. It's time to invest in a newer technology. Rant over.
ServerSnapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 01:49 PM   #3
ddrdan
Senior Member
 
ddrdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hidden Lair
Posts: 6,861
Default

FRUGAL!!! The word is "frugal" !
ddrdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:55 PM   #4
hhicshg
Senior Member
 
hhicshg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to hhicshg Send a message via Yahoo to hhicshg
Default

Cost conscious is also good....
hhicshg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:58 PM   #5
CraigSPL
Senior Member
 
CraigSPL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: On the golf course
Posts: 6,896
Default

with the way prices are now days to me it would be alot easier to buy a new N adaptor and not have to go through the trouble and headache.
CraigSPL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:07 PM   #6
DontCareHowYouDoItInNY
Senior Member
 
DontCareHowYouDoItInNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The suburbs of Archer Lodge
Posts: 3,660
Default

You probably tried this, but there are several Vista drivers that worked with older hardware that will work with Windows 7.
DontCareHowYouDoItInNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:42 PM   #7
ServerSnapper
Senior Member
 
ServerSnapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10,766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigSPL View Post
with the way prices are now days to me it would be alot easier to buy a new N adaptor and not have to go through the trouble and headache.

One of my points besides FRUGAL
ServerSnapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:09 PM   #8
trev47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 167
Default

Have you tried the driver from here?
http://www.bilal.ca/linksys-wusb54g-v4-x64-windows-7/
trev47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 05:01 PM   #9
ddrdan
Senior Member
 
ddrdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hidden Lair
Posts: 6,861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trev47 View Post
Have you tried the driver from here?
http://www.bilal.ca/linksys-wusb54g-v4-x64-windows-7/
Thanks, yes I did. I went to the RALink website to get their RT2500, RT3500 and 2 other drivers. They worked great on my 32 bit version of Win 7 but not on the 64 bit premium version. I should have loaded the 32 bit version on the PC but I wasn't undoing all I had done just to get the wireless to work.

The PC I built was for my kid's photography business. I gave her snapper's advice, go buy a new one!!! Heck, I gave her the PC, she can buy her own wireless.
ddrdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:13 AM   #10
ServerSnapper
Senior Member
 
ServerSnapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10,766
Default

That's simply the best thing to do. Old technology makes it hard to find drivers and most of the time I have noticed the hardware will cause a blue screen.
ServerSnapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. 4042.com
4042.com Covers all of Johnston County, NC!

Our areas of interest include Clayton NC, Smithfield NC, Benson NC, Four Oaks NC, and Selma NC.