Wireless Router follow-up question - 4042.com Forums

Go Back   4042.com Forums > Johnston County, NC > PC Help Desk

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2012, 12:20 PM   #1
Kent
Senior Member
 
Kent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wake Forest area
Posts: 1,594
Default Wireless Router follow-up question

I have noticed a dramatic recent slow-down on all of our computers when it comes to wireless function, downloads, etc.

I have a Mac desktop, a PC laptop, and a Mac laptop.

The router I have is an SMC Networks Barricade g. A church member bought it on ebay for me several years ago and installed/set it up for me.

The router looks like it's always in heavy use with the green lights flashing a lot more than I remember.

It's got a password so I know none of my neighbors are tapping on to it.

Can a router go "bad" or get slower?

I liked the recommendations that were given in a previous Router thread, so I'll probably get one of them.

Also, if I buy a new router will I have to configure/set-up each of my computers 1-at-a-time?

I used to be more hardware tech-savvy, but not any more.

Thanks in advance.

Kent
Kent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 09:32 PM   #2
trev47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 167
Default

Routers can indeed go bad, but I would suggest that you first power cycle the router and modem. Unplug both and leave unplugged for about 30 seconds. Plug them back in and check the speed.

If you need to buy a new one, set it up with the same SSID, encryption, and password and your clients will connect automatically.
trev47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 09:50 PM   #3
Kent
Senior Member
 
Kent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wake Forest area
Posts: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trev47 View Post
Routers can indeed go bad, but I would suggest that you first power cycle the router and modem. Unplug both and leave unplugged for about 30 seconds. Plug them back in and check the speed.

If you need to buy a new one, set it up with the same SSID, encryption, and password and your clients will connect automatically.
I did the 1st part several times with no noticeable results.

Will keep the 2nd portion for reference when I get a new one.

Appreciate it.
Kent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 09:48 AM   #4
ServerSnapper
Senior Member
 
ServerSnapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10,766
Default

depending on the model just see if there are patches. I have a dual channel and I have to check for updates all the time. tables get full of garbage..just good to reset or hard reboot every now and then.
ServerSnapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 09:50 AM   #5
Kent
Senior Member
 
Kent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wake Forest area
Posts: 1,594
Default

10-4, thanks
Kent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:57 PM   #6
trev47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 167
Default

Another test would be to plug your PC directly into the modem and test the speed - bypassing the router. If your speed is still not good then it's your ISP.
trev47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 12:31 AM   #7
Kent
Senior Member
 
Kent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wake Forest area
Posts: 1,594
Default

Got my computers checked and the modems checked.

It was the router.

Got me an Apple Airport Express today.

It's humming along nicely.

Thanks to all who responded.
Kent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. 4042.com
4042.com Covers all of Johnston County, NC!

Our areas of interest include Clayton NC, Smithfield NC, Benson NC, Four Oaks NC, and Selma NC.